• Live
    • Audio Only
  • google plus
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • Peru

    Peru's Foreign Minister Popolizio, Canada's PM Trudeau and Canada's Foreign Minister Freeland applaud during the opening session of the Lima Group meeting in Ottawa | Photo: Reuters

Published 4 February 2019

Canada's Foreign Ministry has denied press credentials to at least three media outlets to cover the group of predominantly right-wing governments.

The Foreign Ministry of Canada has denied access to several media outlets to cover the Lima Group meeting taking place in Ottawa Monday. At that meeting, countries who are currently allied against Venezuela are expected to discuss further steps associated with their actions against the Bolivarian nation.


Canada Denies teleSUR Press Credentials for Lima Group Meeting

Canada’s foreign ministry issued the same terse response to Russian media outlets Sputnik News as it did Ria Novosti’s bid for press credentials for the meeting: “Thank you for your interest in the 10th ministerial meeting of the Lima Group in Ottawa. This letter is to inform you you have not been accredited as media." 

As with Canada’s rejection of teleSUR for media credentials as reported Feb. 3., the response provided no reason for the rejection, however, Canadian spokesperson for the Lima Group responded to Sputnik by saying that the news outlet was rejected for a “lack of respect to the Canadian Foreign Minister."

The case of censorship was reported via social media by teleSUR's president:

This Russian agency has also not received credentials for the meeting in Canada. Arbitrary decisions. It's not new, but we won't stop calling it out.

The predominantly right-wing Lima Group which supports the coup attempt by self-proclaimed president Juan Guaido backed by the United States, has said they would not condone a military intervention to depose President Nicolas Maduro.

The group was created in 2017 at the behest of Peru. Recently, it has been highly engaged in promoting regime change in Venezuela with the backing of the United States and the European Union.

It is composed of Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Santa Lucia, and Guyana. All of its members, except for Mexico, Guyana, and Santa Lucia, have backed Guiado’s coup attempt. Ecuador — not a party to the association — has also backed the group’s stance on Venezuela.

Post with no comments.