• Live
    • Audio Only
  • google plus
  • facebook
  • twitter
News > Nicaragua

Association of Caribbean States Begins Summit in Nicaragua

  • The Association of Caribbean States (ACS) meeting is being held in Nicaragua.

    The Association of Caribbean States (ACS) meeting is being held in Nicaragua. | Photo: Twitter / @ ACS_AEC

Published 28 March 2019

The Association of Caribbean States is meeting in Nicaragua for their 24 ministerial meeting to dicuss climate change.

The Association of Caribbean States (ACS) is holding its 24 ministerial meeting in Nicaragua Thursday and Friday.


A Fig Leaf On The Table At Mar-a-Lago? Caribbean Leaders Meeting Trump In Florida On Venezuela

The Vice President of Nicaragua Rosario Murillo welcomed the official delegation in Managua.

"We want to greet in a special way all the delegations that are arriving for the 25th Anniversary Meeting of the Association of Caribbean States," Murillo said in a message.

Delegates from 25 member countries of ACS and nine partners have arrived for the summit to work on a plan of action for the coming years.

The Nicaraguan Vice President said one of the main issues to be addressed is climate change and vulnerability to it. He said, “all will have to work together to face it positively.”

"Foreign Ministers / Representatives of the 35 Members of the ACS begin the discussions of the XXIV Meeting of the Council of Ministers in # Nicaragua, with the theme of the deliberations: Uniting Efforts in the Caribbean to Confront Climate Change. # AEC # ACS # GranCaribe"

The Foreign Minister of Cuba Bruno Rodriguez wrote on Twitter, “The ACS 24th Ministerial Meeting started. Cuba reiterates commitment with Greater Caribbean and defends principles enshrined in Proclamation of LAC as a Zone of Peace and Underlines the importance of dialogue, coordination, and cooperation in the face of common challenges and threats.”

On Wednesday, a preparatory meeting took place and Thursday the chancellors met.  

The ACS is composed of Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Dominican Republic, San Cristobal and Nieves, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago and Venezuela.

Associated States are Aruba, Bonaire, Curacao, Guadeloupe, French Guiana, British Virgin Islands, Martinique, Saba Island, Saint Barthelemy, Saint Martin (French), Saint Eustatius and Saint Martin (Dutch).

Post with no comments.