• Live
    • Audio Only
  • google plus
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • Bolivia

    Bolivia's President Evo Morales waves after a ceremony at the presidential palace La Casa Grande del Pueblo in La Paz | Photo: Reuters

Published 28 April 2019

Bolivia has added three more Indigenous languages to their national constitution, increasing the total to 36.

The government of Bolivia announced this week that they will be recognizing three Indigenous languages and adding them to their national constitution, Presna Latina reported, citing local media.


1st Class Graduates from 'Hugo Chavez School' in Bolivia

According to Presna Latina, the Indigenous languages of Joaquiniano, Paunaka and Kumsa have been added to the Political Constitution of the State of Bolivia, giving the country a total of 36 native tongues. 

The general director of the Plurinational Institute for the Study of Languages and Cultures (IPELEC), Pedro Apala, noted that those languages, which have a comparative grammar and vocabularies and are spoken in several regions of the country, will be recognized this year.

Apala said that Joaquiniano is spoken in the plain regions of Beni, Paunaka in Santa Cruz, and Kumsa in Sur Chichas (Potosi). He added that he was proud of these new contributions to the Bolivian constitution as it will increase the cultural identity of his country through language.

The Bolivian consititution has already recognized the following Indigenous languages: Aymara, Araona, Baure, Besiro, Canichana, Cavineño, Cayubaba, Chacobo, Chiman, Ese Ejja, Guarani, Guarasu'we, Guarayu, Itonama, Leco, Machajuyai-Kallawaya, Machineri, Maropa, Mojeño-Trinitario, Mojeño-Ignaciano, More, Moseten, Movima, Pacawara, Puquina, Quechua, Siriono, Tacana, Tapiete, Toromona, Uru-Chipaya, Weenhayek, Yaminawa, Yuki, Yuracare and Zamuco.

According to official statistics, Bolivia has the largest Indigenous population in Latin America, boasting approximately 62.2 percent; this is followed by Guatemala, Peru, and Mexico.

Post with no comments.