• Live
    • Audio Only
  • google plus
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • Ecuador's President Lenin Moreno arrived Saturday night in Lima

    Ecuador's President Lenin Moreno arrived Saturday night in Lima | Photo: EFE

Published 26 May 2019

Ecuador's Lenin Moreno, Bolivia's Evo Morales, Colombia's Ivan Duque and Peru's Martin Vizcarra

Presidents of Ecuador, Bolivia, Colombia and Peru are meeting Sunday in the Peruvian capital in order to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Andean Community of Nations, or CAN.

Peru's Leader Floats China as Partner for Mega-Railway Project

The CAN's “political commitment” was established in 1969 in Cartagena de Indias by its founding members Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, and Peru in order to organize an equal a balanced development across the Andean region.

Over the last 50 years, the four neighboring nations were also able to unify its natural disaster response mechanisms, create the Andean Committee of Cultural Affairs, and realize a number of global agreements.

Trade remains the main unity factor between the four founding members, and the respective Trade Ministers are accompanying the Presidents in this Summit, along with their Foreign Ministers.

Last May, the Andean Nations Community elected Peru to preside over its international meetings after a seven-year vacancy in the Andean Presidential Council.

Peru's leadership aims to improve the regional integration, including the Andean Migration Card, more affordable telephone roaming fees, sharing of information on disease and plant pests, as well as US$50 million to be used towards business innovations in Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, and Peru.

Post with no comments.