• Live
    • Audio Only
  • google plus
  • facebook
  • twitter
News > Russia

Acting Heads of New Russian Regions Appointed by Putin

  • Russian President Vladimir Putin. Oct. 5, 2022.

    Russian President Vladimir Putin. Oct. 5, 2022. | Photo: Twitter/@CNSARosCosMoS

Published 5 October 2022

Those politicians leading the regions before their accession to Russia have retained their posts.

Last Friday, Putin and the heads of the DPR, LPR, Zaporozhye and Kherson regions signed the accession treaties. This followed the acceptance on joining the Russian Federation declared in the referendums held earlier. 

Putin Issues Decree to Ensure Safety of Zaporizhia Plant

Russian President Vladimir Putin has appointed the acting heads of the Donbass republics (DPR, LPR) and the Zaporozhye and Kherson regions. This comes pending an election according to Russian law. 

From the Donetsk People's Republic (DPR), Denis Pushilin, elected in 2018 head of the republic, became acting head. From the Lugansk People's Republic (LPR), Leonid Pasechnik is also now acting head, having been elected head of the republic in 2018 as well.

In turn, the heads of Zaporozhye and Kherson regions became acting governors: Yevgeny Balitsky and Vladimir Saldo, respectively.  

At a ceremony in the Kremlin on Friday, the Russian President and the heads of the four regions signed the treaties of accession to the Russian Federation.

In the referendums held between the 23rd and 27th in these territories, a large majority supported accession.

Post with no comments.