Calendar for the 2024 FIFA U20 Women’s World Cup Has Been Defined

Venezuelan player Marianyela Jimenez (C) after scoring a goal against Argentina, May 6, 2024. Photo: X/ @EdwGalo

June 5, 2024 Hour: 6:46 pm

Twenty-four countries will compete for the world cup in Colombia starting August 31.

On Wednesday, FIFA President Gianni Infantino stated that Colombia will provide the ideal setting to host the U20 Women’s World Cup, which will be held in Bogota, Medellin, and Cali from August 31.


Bolivarian Youth Games: Colombia, Venezuela Achieve Top Places

“This competition could not have a better host than Colombia, a country that will host a FIFA women’s tournament for the first time and will provide the ideal setting for this much-anticipated event,” he said through a video presented during the U20 World Cup draw in Bogota.

The FIFA president highlighted Colombia’s “vibrancy” and the “passion” of its fans, as reflected in the quarter-final match of the 2024 World Cup where the team seemed like the home team in Sydney.

“I cannot imagine what the atmosphere will be like in Bogota, Medellin, and Cali, as well as in the rest of the country in just a few weeks. Without a doubt, Colombia is a beautiful country with wonderful and hospitable people. They will welcome the teams and fans who visit them in the best possible way, demonstrating that football unites the world,” Infantino expressed.

The text reads, “To add to this week’s joys, I share this video about what we experienced presenting Kinti, the official mascot of the U20 Women’s World Cup. There are many opportunities coming for women in sports!”

In the FIFA U20 Women’s World Cup will participate Argentina, Austria, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Cameroon, Costa Rica, France, Fiji, Ghana, Germany, Japan, Mexico, Morocco, New Zealand, Nigeria, North Korea, the Netherlands, Paraguay, South Korea, Spain, the United States, and Venezuela.

On Wednesday, the draw held in Hall 74 in Bogota distributed the 24 national teams into six groups:

Group A: Colombia, Australia, Cameroon, and Mexico.

Group B: France, Canada, Brazil, and Fiji.

Group C: Spain, United States, Paraguay, and Morocco.

Group D: Germany, Venezuela, Nigeria, and Republic of Korea.

Group E: Japan, New Zealand, Ghana, and Austria.

Group F: South Korea, Argentina, Costa Rica, and Netherlands.

The text reads, “Maradonian goal from a Venezuelan. Argentina was leading the action when Venezuela took the ball out of the middle and captain Marianyela Jimenez did the rest. She left five Argentinians behind and scored this spectacular goal.”

On August 31, the opening match will be played at Campin Stadium in Bogota, where the final match will also be played on September 22.

“Colombia has made significant progress in women’s football, as shown by its recent results in international tournaments,” Infantino said.

“Hosting a FIFA tournament will serve to continue motivating the youth of the country and giving a new boost to women’s football,” he added.

The president of the Colombian Football Federation, Ramon Jesurun, emphasized that his country is very happy to welcome players and fans from around the world.

“This is not only a sporting event but also a platform to promote gender equality and inclusion in sports. It is a reminder that football is for everyone, regardless of gender, age, and origin. Together we can build a fairer and more equitable future for all,” he pointed out.

Sources: EFE – Semana

teleSUR/ JF

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *